Foundation News

2023 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to our 2023 Scholarship Award Recipients!

The Community Foundation of Greenville holds seven scholarship funds and is proud to award these funds to students in accordance with the donor’s wishes. We are excited to announce our 2023 scholarship recipients whose awards total $116,441!


Alice Watkins Scholarship – Alice Watkins Senter’s family established this scholarship in her name to honor her. She was gifted in poetry and music, but her life was shortened by a tragic and incurable illness. The Senter family wanted to celebrate her most productive and happy times by awarding a Wade Hampton High School student, with a love of English, Literature, and Poetry, an opportunity to pursue a degree in higher education.

  • Alexis Howard, awarded $10,000

Greenville County Fire Chiefs’ Association Scholarship – In 1995, the Greenville County Fire Chiefs’ Association established a scholarship fund to promote higher education for firefighters and/or families of firefighters.

  • Jordyn Arrowood, awarded $600
  • Erin King, awarded $600

John I. Smith Charities Scholarship – This fund was established in 1989 by John I. Smith Charities to provide educational incentives and financial assistance to individuals residing in government-subsidized housing with the goal of helping students achieve self-sufficiency and become contributing citizens of the community through educational attainment.

  • Dynasty Green, awarded $6,400
  • Jackson Keels, awarded $6,400
  • Syrdera Little, awarded $6,400
  • Jeremiyah Nedwards, awarded $6,400
  • Anna Schemm, awarded $6,400

Margaret and Jack Paylor Family Scholarship – The Margaret and Jack Paylor Family Scholarship Fund was created to provide financial assistance for higher education attainment to economically disadvantaged students residing in Greenville County and planning to attend a South Carolina public college/university.

  • Syrdera Little, awarded $5,000
  • Mya McKenzie, awarded $5,000
  • Jeremiyah Nedwards, awarded $5,000
  • Matthews Pastor-Lozano, awarded $5,000
  • Jade Pichierre, awarded $5,000
  • Raegan Powell, awarded $5,000

Obermier Scholarship In Memory of John N. Obermier, Edith M. Obermier and Mary Belle Obermier – Mary Belle Obermier established this scholarship with a gift from her estate in 2012. Her intent was to help academically deserving students who need financial assistance to be able to attend college and to give preference to qualified students who are committed to a career in the United States Navy.  The preference for naval students is in recognition of the US Navy careers of her deceased husband, John, and his deceased first wife, Edith, who were both veterans of World War II.

  • Madaline Allen, awarded $2,000
  • Nia Drummond, awarded $2,000
  • Dynasty Green, awarded $2,000
  • Syrdera Little, awarded $2,000
  • Chloe Mueller, awarded $10,000
  • Jeremiyah Nedwards, awarded $2,000
  • Charles Schemm, awarded $2,000
  • Kennedy Tillery, awarded $2,000
  • Linh Tran, awarded $2,000
  • Curtis Wilson, awarded $2,000

Rama Memorial Scholarship for the Greenville City Fire Department – The Rama Family established this scholarship in 2006 with the purpose of promoting opportunities for higher education for children of members of the Greenville City Fire Department by awarding grants for tuition and required fees.

  • Erin King, awarded $3,067
  • Rionnelee Peace, awarded $3,067
  • Sarah Walker, awarded $3,067

Greenville County Library Staff Education Fund – The purpose of the Greenville Library Staff Education Fund in Memory of Anthony Messineo is to provide financial assistance to Greenville County Library System staff members who are seeking educational advancement through specialized course work, course work leading to a Bachelor’s degree in an appropriate job-related field and/or a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science.

  • Four staff members received a total of $6,040

Click here to learn about our scholarship process.

Scholarship award recipients pictured above (top left to bottom right): Syrdera Little, Matthews Pastor-Lozano, Erin King, Curtis Wilson, Alexis Howard, Raegan Powell, Nia Drummond, Jackson Keels, Mya McKenzie, and Madaline Allen.


Back to News

Make a Difference
in Our Community